TOPIC: 2000 DTS Blown Gasket, only 58k PLEASE HELP!

2000 DTS Blown Gasket, only 58k PLEASE HELP! 16 years 8 months ago #1697

• Fragile_2009
My family and I recently purchased a used 2000 DTS, it had 56k miles on it when I picked it up in Utah (Bountiful, UT Specialties Auto ). I flew down and drove it back to our Eastern Oregon home, no problems, fell in love with the thing.

A week or so into it, the \"Service Engine\" light turned on... I purchased an engine decoder (?) to read the problem (Amazon, only $75), the engine ran just fine, better then fine. The engine light was due to a \"Misfire in Cylinder 2\". Figured the spark plug needed to be replaced. I am not a mechanic, so I checked with the local auto parts store, they recommended a fuel injector cleaner then look to the spark plug, then to the wires...

Fast forward three weeks no problems, injector cleaner does not seem to be working, light keeps coming on. My wife and my mom take the care 45 miles out of town, the car overheats... Of course I am sure that my wife was driving it hard... Gets it home just fine, it then does it to me on my twenty mile jaunt to work, then back from work. Took it to the local GM dealer, figure the thermostat has gone bad, I am running through antifreeze, but I am not blowing any kind of smoke, I do not have any water in the oil, no oil in the antifreeze, the coolant just does not want to cool.

I get the call today, blown head gasket. $2600+ to fix it. Utah has a wonderful lemon law for dealers, none, unless it is new. No recourse on the vehicle, the dealer states they will not do anything for us, that this is common on the N* engine.